The Battle of Ft. Glee

My twitter world was polarized last night, and it didn’t even take 140 characters. Five words, actually, is all it took to put my twitter friends at odds.

When I was Entertainment Editor at The Review, I pitched a story about guys who watch what would otherwise be considered female marketed shows, but are ashamed to admit this in the public forum. The fear being that once this admittance is made, you risk open ridicule, and attacks on your masculinity. Whenever Glee is mentioned around guys, at least the guys I know, there’s another g word that accompanies it. But with Glee, there’s a counter backlash to any bashing. The above tweet was met with outrage.”That’s one of the rudest things you’ve said, ever” one person replied. “Don’t you dare ever talk about glee that way unless you wanna get smacked mister!” another one said, threatening violence over their beloved show.

What makes Glee different then, that not only are people, even males, open about their adoration, but defend the show with such passion? Speak ill of this show? How dare you!

Personally, I’ve never seen a single episode, and the closest I’ve come has been reading the GQ cover story last month. I am a fan of Jane Lynch however, whatever that counts as. But high school shows have never appealed to me. I abstained from High School Musical fever, and Gossip Girl is going to lose out to NBA League pass every night. As for musicals or musically themed shows, it pretty much starts and stops at Digital Shorts.

So, Glee is not for me. However, I am aware that, for what it is, it’s a well done show. The songs do well, episodes address worthwhile topics, and the writing is good enough to be nominated with shows like Modern Family and 30 Rock.

Is it possible that I’m not giving the show a chance simply because the very foundation of it disagrees with me? Sure, but I also have zero Lady Gaga and Britney Spears on my iPod, so where’s the attraction?

I’m a rap loving, football watching guy who likes explosions and smart humor. Glee is not for me. But the hatred, the hopes for cancellation stem from more than disinterest.

Glee is everywhere, and for those of us who are disinterested, those feelings begin to warp into something a little more sinister. “Gleeks” tweet and post their every flux of emotion. The cast is seemingly comprised of 25 stars, each of whom makes the late night circuits. They grace magazine covers, get radio play, HOST AWARD SHOWS! This must be how adults feel about Jersey Shore.

I don’t necessarily wish doom upon the Glee cast or it’s fans, but I understand where my man berkowitzb is coming from. Enough already with the Glee overload. Keep your inner most thoughts about Gweneth Paltrow’s performance to yourself, because twitter is comprised of gleeks and non-gleeks alike. Besides, if dude has an opinion, no need to swarm on him. Glee is not for us, and neither are your tweets. Enjoy your show, I’m sure it’s wonderful.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to The Battle of Ft. Glee

  1. Diamondstone says:

    “Keep your inner most thoughts about Gweneth Paltrow’s performance to yourself, because twitter is comprised of gleeks and non-gleeks alike.”

    Isn’t twitter purely an application where people get to share their opinions? Regardless of whether or not you’re talking about Glee…

    I hate seeing tweets like “Generic sports team, you’d be better without generic player!”. But that’s what twitter is — it’s a forum for expressing opinions that, really, nobody cares about.

    Do I watch Glee? Yes. Do I watch sports? Yes. Do I tweet about either of these things? Nope. “Twitter is comprised of gleeks and non-gleeks alike.” Twitter is also comprised of football fans, fans of Las Vegas or Burn Notice, fans of breaking news stories or standup comedians. So who is to say that tweeting about any of these topics is “overload” as compared to any other?

  2. teddysim says:

    True, but it’s not the same with visibility. My sports team that I tweet about is the Orlando Magic except who else is mentioning them? Not the same. Also, not just talking about twitter. The overload is multi-channeled.

    Also to sum twitter up I wouldn’t say “a forum for expressing opinions that, really, nobody cares about.” That’s makes it sound cheap and useless.

  3. Diamondstone says:

    That’s fair, I came at Twitter a little too hard with that comment. Twitter can absolutely be useful, I’m just saying that the majority of tweets that _I_ read on a daily basis come across as “I feel a certain way about a thing that people know about!”

    In what other mediums have you come across Glee overload? I work on the internet, and I find very little hits headlines when it comes to Glee…

Leave a Reply

