At the end of the day

Copped the Kanye West special collectors issue of XXL this past week. It was a move I had to make, and was glad to. “The Exclusive story from the man himself” the cover reads, drawing me towards the 40 pages Kanye co-edited. The entire spread is beautiful, West drawing from Rosewood inspiration — “the affluent businessman.” The story itself is cluttered and multi-directional, but through some of the mini rants and tangents, there are some poignant thoughts, defenses, and insights from the man determined to rectify his infamous self-destructive transgressions. Here are my favorite quotes from the piece:

“When I did things like that or the ‘George Bush doesn’t care about Black people’ moment, it wasn’t a matter of being selfish, from where I stood. It’s more like I was being selfless – that I would risk everything to express what I felt was the truth.”

“To go from people not wanting to sign me to ending up at the Grammys completely annihilating shit. No one man should have all that power. No human being should be given that, especially because I had to put on this asshole armor. I had to be borderline delusional in my own head to think that I could make it this far.”

“I think people’s greatest apprehension in liking me is, to the public, the perception is like a nagging, whiny bitch.”

“I am where art meets commercial. The sweet spot between the hood and Hollywood. Having a conversation with Karl Lagerfield and Jay-Z within the same hour. When we’re in Paris dressing all crazy at fashion shows, we listening to Jeezy. Jeezy in Paris, that’s what it is.”

“Sometimes I even do the ultimate taboo in hip-hop and actually wear my pants on my waist, whatever fits is appropriate for clothing…When I visited Wayne at Rikers Island I had a suit on with some slippers, and the guard said, ‘Man those shoes are amazing.’ And I said ‘Yes, they are. I’m Kanye West.’ “

On a related note: Catch Yeezy on SNL tonight. Promos can be seen here.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

