Con Air

It’s like the World Cup for the un-athletic. The apex of all things superhero, comic book, and Sci-Fi. The perennial blood in the water that attracts all geeky sharks for a feeding frenzy. Comic-Con 2010 is only a few days away (July 22-25) and while not all of us are as lost in fanboy outer space as say, this guy, it would be foolish to think the yearly festival doesn’t have something for everybody. For those going, or those wondering what they would be doing had they gone, here’s a make-your-own Comic Con scheduler. Here’s what mine would look like (No apologies for my bias):

Thursday July 22

10:00 a.m. – 11:00 a.m. Dreamworks Animation: Mastermind

Kick off the convention with a panel for Dreamworks’ latest. You’ll notice a heavy emphasis on movies and TV in my schedule, but seriously, how do you not go to a panel featuring Will Ferrell and Tina Fey?

11:30 a.m. – 12:30 p.m. Mattel and WWE: The Ultimate Tag Team

I don’t follow WWE anymore (What up, Berk) but this seems like good entertainment either way. “learn how WWE’s exciting storylines come together and get translated into Mattel’s all-new action figure toy line.” Speakers could be better, but with only 116 attendees you can get a front row seat for this behind the scenes look.

1:00 p.m. – 2:00 p.m. Sony Pictures Entertainment: Battle: Los Angeles ans Salt

Just movie filler. Really though, gotta show up for the prospect of seeing Angelina Jolie.

2:00 p.m. – 3:00 p.m. Walt Disney Animation Studio: Character Creation!

2:00 p.m. – 2:30 p.m. Autograph: Stan Lee

Disney animators discuss the creation of some of the characters in their latest project, Tangled. This is classic cool. Everyone loved Disney movies when they were a kids. And for those of us who grew up on Marvel, a chance to get the masters signature. Gotta squeeze these two together and hope for the best.

3:30 p.m – 4:30 p.m Entertainment Weekly: The Visionaries

This one is special. “A discussion with geek gods J.J. Abrams (Star Trek) and Joss Whedon (Buffy the Vampire Slayer) on the future of pop culture.” Um, anyone who knows me, knows that I love pop culture and “Lost” could arguably be my favorite part of that. I also love EW and once asked J.J. Abrams a question on the phone during a conference call. He was awesome; answering the question with great detail and length. My adoration for everything he does is through the roof.

5:00 p.m. – 6:00 p.m. Adult Swim: Childrens Hospital

I’ve heard a lot about this show and haven’t seen a single episode. Panel includes Rob Corddry, David Wain, and Rob Huebel. A great way to find out about a show with lots of buzz, and most likely laugh, too.

7:30 p.m. – 8:30 p.m. Penn + Teller: 35 Years of Magic & BS!

Close out the night with two great performers. Whenever I catch their show I find it enjoyable. This includes Q&A, clips, and a few tricks (!!).

Busy first day, and probably a little too ambitious, but this is my first (imagined) Comic-Con, I’m allowed to dream big.

Friday July 23

10:00 a.m – 11:00 a.m. Comedy Central: Ugly Americans

What do you think the sleeping habits of the nerd contingency are? I’m hoping the early nerd gets the worm here and it’s best to start the day early. This show had a short first season on Comedy Central, but thanks to my old room mate Dan, I caught all of it. It’s a weird show about Manhattan inhabited by humans and monsters alike. Quirky on humor, but innovative enough to work.

2:00 p.m. to 3:00 p.m. Yo Gabba Gabba! Panel, Q&A, and Prize Giveaway

A “pop culture phenomenon,” this show is just plain bizarre. I have to go just to see what can possibly be said about this. They get great guest stars, probably because everyone’s kids are hypnotized by the strangeness.

4:00 p.m. – 6:00 p.m. Sony Pictures Entertainment: The Other Guys, The Green Hornet, and Priest.

I care about two of these movies, can you guess which? I think “The Other Guys” is going to be the buddy-cop satire “Cop Out” was trying to be, and “The Green Hornet” has obvious attraction; Seth Rogen as a superhero. Like the Megamind panel, this one’s too good to pass up.

5:15 p.m. to 6:15 p.m. True Blood Panel and Q&A session

Will have to leave the previous event early to make the panel and Q&A for my newest show. The whole cast will be there and I can’t.. wait for it…wait for it… pass up the chance to sink my teeth into this one.

9:00 p.m. – 10:00 p.m. Worst Cartoons Ever

Sounds like it should be led by Comic Book guy.”An all-new program of some of the worst cartoons ever made, including the Phys Ed super-hero Mighty Mr. Titan, space cadet Johnny Cypher, and a canine crime fighter named Bat Beagle” Figured I needed some variety and this seems like the remedy. Will undoubtedly be funny, and maybe, just maybe, educational, too.

Saturday July 24

10:00 a.m. – 11:00 a.m. Nickelodeon Presents: The SpongeBob SquarePants Secret Formula Revealed!

I have a 7-year-old brother and sister who have seen every single Spongebob episode and know most of them by heart. No, I’m not kidding. I’d attend this just to better understand their obsession, and to build a sub-conscience defense mechanism ala “Inception.”

11:00 a.m. to 11:45 a.m. Family Guy

Discussion with creator Seth MacFarlane and actors Alex Borstein and Seth Green. “Family Guy” is a college-aged male staple. Missing this would be like sleeping through the Girls Gone Wild sponsored Brunch in Pencader Dining Hall.

11:45 a.m. – 1:15 p.m. Warner Bros.: Sucker Punch and Harry Potter and the Deathly Hallows

More movies, I know. This is really just a chance to gain some valuable HP insight while waiting for…

12:45 p.m. – 1:30 p.m. Futurama

Full panel for the return of an underrated comedy. It just started pumping out new episodes, making Futurama about as buzzworthy as an old cult-favorite cartoon show can be.

1:30 p.m. – 2:15 p.m. The Simpsons

Same room as Futurama, so I won’t have to go anywhere or run through a crowd of Storm Troopers and Na’vi to get here on time. If I have to explain the draw to a Simpsons panel to you then you should probably stop reading this blog and never start again.

3:00 p.m. – 4:00 p.m. NBC’s Community Cast and Creative Team

A lot of people have been bringing up TV show writing to me and I don’t know why. This would be a good opportunity to see what it takes to be a comedy writer, and a look inside of one really funny show. Panel includes Joel McHale, Chevy Chase, and Donald Glover. Great, Grand, Wonderful.

5:00 p.m. – 6:00 p.m. G4: Attack of the Show

Two Words: Olivia Munn.

10:00 p.m. – 12:00 a.m. Kevin Smith presents Cop Out in ‘Maximum Comedy Mode’

I’m not even going to lie, I would be going this solely to see Tracy Morgan, who could make me laugh while sitting still.

Sunday July 25

2:45 p.m. – 3:45 p.m. FX: Son’s of Anarchy and It’s always Sunny in Philadelphia

This one needs no explanation. “Sunny” is one of the funniest shows on television and you’d be seriously sick if you think I’d go to all these panels about shows and movies I half care about and miss out on this one. I would watch these guys speak on a panel for 6 hours if I could, they’re that good.

Well there you have it. If going to all of these things is anywhere near as exhausting as writing about them then Comic-Con 2010 would suck me dry. I guess it’s a good thing then that I dress in normal clothes, live in the north east, and consider myself somewhat of an athlete.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Con Air

  1. Pingback: Star Power | Out The Gates

Leave a Reply

